Local Government Reform in Northamptonshire

Northamptonshire Local Government Reform

The Government has asked councils in Northamptonshire to make proposals to replace the existing two tier system of local government – a county council responsible for some functions and seven boroughs and districts with responsibility for other local government functions – with single unitary councils. 

A consultation on proposed changes to Northamptonshire councils was held at www.futurenorthants.co.uk, which ran until 22nd July 2018.

Daventry District Council, East Northamptonshire Council, Kettering Borough Council, Northampton Borough Council, Northamptonshire County Council, South Northamptonshire Council and the Borough Council of Wellingborough all decided to submit a proposal to Government to replace the councils with two new unitary authorities while Corby Borough Council decided not to. 

Northamptonshire is currently awaiting a decision from the Secretary of State on whether its eight existing councils will be replaced with two new unitary authorities from May 2020. Before this decision, the Government ran a consultation on the proposal, which ended on 25 January 2019.

On this page you can find out more about Local Government Reform in Northamptonshire, including key documents and reports.

Northamptonshire's Proposal to Government

The Northamptonshire Local Government Reform Proposal submission consists of the following documents:

West Northamptonshire Joint Committee

This Joint Committee has been established by Daventry District Council, Northampton Borough Council, Northamptonshire County Council and South Northamptonshire Council in order to undertake the necessary preparatory work before the establishment of a West Northamptonshire Shadow Authority.

A west shadow authority will be established after the Government decides to proceed with the two unitary proposal and approves legislation for the creation of the new councils.

View the West Northamptonshire Joint Committee meetings, agendas, reports and membership

Latest updates

View the latest West Northamptonshire Local Government Reform update

Background information 

Unitary process FAQs 

View the response to the Secretary of State Consultation by West Council Leaders - January 2019 here 

View details of the Daventry District Council meeting held to discuss the submission proposals here 

Listen to the Daventry District Council meeting held to discuss the submission proposals here

Download the Equalities Impact Assessment for the Local Government Reorganisation Proposal

Future Northants - consultation into Local Government Reform in Northamptonshire (this consultation closed on 22/7/18)

Deloitte Report for District and Borough Councils

Max Caller report Jan-March 2018 – Northamptonshire County Council Best Value Inspection