West Northamptonshire Council unitary election

West Northamptonshire Council unitary election

The Government announced on Friday 13 March 2020 that the local elections scheduled for 7 May 2020 have been postponed for a year until 6 May 2021, due to the current situation around COVID-19.

A total of 93 councillors will be elected for West Northamptonshire – three seats for each of the 31 electoral wards which are based on similar geographical areas to the existing county council division areas.

The new West Northamptonshire Council will legally become responsible for the delivery of local services on 1st April 2021, up until that date elected councillors will serve on a shadow authority that will be responsible for setting up the new council so that it is ready to be operational from 1st April 2021.

The following wards will be up for election in the new West Northamptonshire Council area:

Abington and Phippsville
Billing and Rectory Farm
Boothville and Parklands
Braunston and Crick
Dallington Spencer
Daventry East
Daventry West
Delapre and Rushmere
Duston East
Duston West and St. Crispin
East Hunsbury and Shelfleys
Hackleton and Grange Park
Kingsthorpe North
Kingsthorpe South
Long Buckby
Middleton Cheney
Nene Valley
Riverside Park
St. George
Towcester and Roade
Woodford and Weedon

The elections will take place at a time when Covid-19 continues to present risks to public health. Depending on the infection rate, measures taken to control the spread of the virus may change as we approach May. This means we cannot currently answer all the questions you may have about how the election will be run. However, we are working hard with the Electoral Commission, the wider electoral community and public health authorities to help ensure you can stay safe when casting your vote next May.

We will update this page with further information as it becomes available.

Further information can also be found on the website of the Electoral Commission.

This page was last updated on 18 November 2020.