European Parliamentary Elections

Polling Day for the European Parliamentary Election is scheduled to take place on Thursday, 23 May 2019. 

Polling stations will be open from 7am to 10pm on Thursday, 23 May, when Daventry District residents will be casting their votes to elect 5 MEPs for the East Midlands.

Daventry District is part of the East Midlands European Parliamentary Constituency. 

There are 5 MEPs (Members of the European Parliament) for the East Midlands, elected every five years. For more details, visit the European Parliament Information Office website

Declaration of Result

The result of the East Midlands European Parliamentary Constituency will be announced after 10pm on Sunday, 26 May, after close of polls across Europe.

The regional result will be published on the Kettering Borough Council website here.

Voting at a polling station

Polling stations will be open from 7am to 10pm on Thursday, 23 May.

When voting at a polling station, it is helpful to take your polling card, but if you don’t have it you can still vote. The only exception to this rule is anonymous electors, who must present their poll cards in order to vote.

Polling station staff will give you ballot papers for the election, provided they have arrived at the polling station by 10pm.

Postal votes 

Postal votes must be received by the Returning Officer by 10pm on Thursday, 23 May. Anyone who has left it too late to post can drop it off at their polling station or at Daventry District Council, Lodge Road, Daventry, NN11 4FP.

Proxy votes 

the deadline (15 May) has now passed for proxy vote applications. However if an elector falls ill or is called away on business, they may be able to apply up to 5pm on 23 May. For enquiries, email or call 01327 871100

European flag