Daventry District Council Elections

Daventry District Council is composed of 36 councillors, each chosen to represent a defined ward by their electors.  Elections are held by thirds, which means that one third of the seats are subject to re-election in each of three successive years, with County Council elections held every fourth year. There are 16 electoral wards in the district. 

Please note that Local elections scheduled for Daventry District in May 2019 were postponed by the Government in the light of plans to restructure councils in Northamptonshire.

If a local councillor resigns or dies the 'seat' becomes vacant and a by-election may be called to find a replacement. A by-election can happen at any time provided the vacancy occurs at least six months before the date for normal elections.

The political make-up of Daventry District Council following the Local Elections on 3 May 2018 is 30 Conservative, 5 Labour, and 1 Lib Dem.

Find details of your local councillors here

Past election results

View the results of past elections on our election results page

DDC elections

By-election for Brixworth Ward

Daventry District Council is holding a by-election for a seat in its Brixworth Ward, following the resignation of Councillor Fabienne Fraser-Allen.

Three candidates have been nominated to contest the seat.

Voting in this by-election

Polling day will be held on Thursday 18 July 2019 and people living in Brixworth, Cottesbrooke, Creaton, Draughton, Lamport, Maidwell and Scaldwell will be able to vote.

 Election Notices