Christmas and New Year arrangements

Christmas avatar 2016.jpg

Waste and recycling collections

Collection schedules

Collections will continue to take place as usual over the Christmas and New Year period, except for Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Year’s Day:

  • If your collection is due on Christmas Day (Wednesday, 25 Dec) it will instead take place on Saturday, 28 December.
  • If your collection is due on Boxing Day (Thursday, 26 Dec) it will instead take place on Sunday, 29 December
  • If your collection is due on New Year’s Day (Wednesday, 1 Jan) this will instead take place on Saturday, 4 January


Extra recycling collection

During the week beginning Monday 23 December, all households will get an extra blue bin recycling collection on their usual collection day. This includes households whose collections have been rescheduled from Christmas Day and Boxing Day to the following weekend.

Daventry District Council's offices and Contact Centre will be closed from Christmas Day, reopening on Thursday 2 January. During this period any missed collections can be reported via our online self-serve system 

For more information visit our Christmas waste and recycling page


Office opening times

Lodge Road council offices

Daventry District Council’s offices will close at 4.30pm on Tuesday 24 December, reopening at 9am on Thursday, 2 January.  

Essential services, such as waste and recycling collections and street cleaning, will continue over Christmas and arrangements will continue to be in place in the event of an emergency.

Please note that Jobcentre Plus and Northamptonshire County Council’s Children’s and Young People’s Service will each operate different working hours over Christmas.


Abbey Advice and Resource Centre

The Abbey will operate its normal office hours up to and including Christmas Eve (Tuesday 24 December). It will then operate the following opening hours:

  • Christmas Day & Boxing Day: Closed
  • Friday 27 December: 9.30am - 3pm
  • Saturday 28 December: 9am - 5pm
  • Sunday 29 December: Closed
  • Monday 30 December: Normal office hours
  • Tuesday 31 December: Normal office hours
  • Wednesday 1 January: Closed

 

The Centre will return to normal office hours from Thursday 2 January.